Spectrum of Visible Light

Light, a form of visible electromagnetic radiation, plays a pivotal role in enabling humans and animals to experience the sensation of vision. While artificial light sources primarily rely on electricity, the light they emit can be understood through photometric quantities and laws rather than purely electric properties.

Visible light encompasses a narrow band of electromagnetic waves, ranging from 380 to 780 nm, within which our eyes can perceive. However, different animals possess the ability to register radiation with varying wavelengths.

Within the spectrum of visible light, distinct ranges with specific wavelengths are perceived by the human eye as different colors. These include:

  1. Violet: Wavelengths ranging from 380 nm to 436 nm.
  2. Blue: Wavelengths ranging from 436 nm to 495 nm.
  3. Green: Wavelengths ranging from 495 nm to 566 nm.
  4. Yellow: Wavelengths ranging from 566 nm to 589 nm.
  5. Orange: Wavelengths ranging from 589 nm to 627 nm.
  6. Red: Wavelengths ranging from 627 nm to 780 nm.
spectrum of visible light

Our visual acuity is highest within the middle of the visible spectrum, gradually diminishing towards the extremities of this range.

By recognizing the varying effects of different colored lights on both humans and animals, we can increase our chances of securing more lighting projects and enhance our collaboration with clients.

Furthermore, it is crucial to utilize different color LEDs based on specific locations and time periods. The impact of light pollution on humans and animals is substantial. However, by reducing light pollution and incorporating red and amber colors to isolate the blue wavelength, visibility for telescopes can be improved. Notably, amber color lighting is particularly beneficial for coastal areas, as it is wildlife-friendly. Fresh Food Lighting can be used in retail, restaurants and hospitality to create the right atmosphere and highlight specific foods, making them more visually appealing and attractive.

Wavelength Range of Visible Light

The wavelength range of visible light spans from 390nm to 780nm. It encompasses the spectrum of electromagnetic waves that can be perceived by the human eyes, which typically have a visual range from 312nm to 1050nm. Visible light, with wavelengths ranging from 380nm to 780nm, exhibits a colorful spectrum comprising red, orange, yellow, green, cyan, blue, and purple when passed through a prism.

The visible light’s wavelength falls within the 400~760nm range, while ultraviolet light ranges from 10nm to 400nm in wavelength.

The range of visible light extends from 390nm to 780nm. It represents the segment of the electromagnetic spectrum that the human eyes can detect, although the precise boundaries of the visible spectrum are not well-defined. Generally, the wavelengths of electromagnetic waves perceivable by ordinary individuals’ eyes range from 400nm to 760nm. However, some people can perceive electromagnetic waves within the 380nm to 780nm range.

Visible light occupies a wavelength range of 400~760nm, and within this range, it manifests as seven colors: red (770nm to 622nm), orange (622nm to 597nm), yellow (597nm to 577nm), green (577nm to 492nm), blue, indigo (492nm), and purple (455nm to 350nm).

Wavelengths of Various Visible Light

The visible spectrum does not have a precise range. The wavelengths of electromagnetic waves that can be perceived by most individuals’ eyes range from 400nm to 760nm, but some people can perceive wavelengths in the approximate range of 380nm to 780nm. The seven wavelength ranges of visible light are as follows: red (770nm to 622nm), orange (622nm to 597nm), yellow (597nm to 577nm), green (577nm to 492nm), blue, indigo (492nm), and purple (455nm to 350nm).

Visible light spans a wavelength range of 400~760nm, with specific colors falling within distinct intervals: red (770nm to 622nm), orange (622nm to 597nm), yellow (597nm to 577nm), green (577nm to 492nm), blue, indigo (492nm), and purple (455nm to 350nm).

In the electromagnetic spectrum, the order of light wavelengths from largest to smallest is as follows: radio waves, microwaves, infrared, visible light, ultraviolet, Roentgen rays, γ-rays, and light waves. Visible light, commonly referred to in this spectrum, has wavelengths approximately ranging from 400nm to 760nm. Wavelength represents the distance a wave travels within one vibration period.

Visible light is characterized by wavelengths ranging from 400nm to 760nm, while ultraviolet light has wavelengths below 400nm.

Visible light encompasses wavelengths between 470nm and 630nm, including blue light, cyan light, green light, yellow light, and orange light. It generally refers to electromagnetic waves with frequencies ranging from 9 × 10^14 to 5 × 10^14Hz and wavelengths of approximately 400~760nm in a vacuum.

Special applications for visible light

The use of different colors of visible light can not only make food appear fresh and delicious, but also protect the environment and improve the living environment of wild animals.

The color amber is a vibrant hue, positioned between yellow and orange on the color wheel. Its name originates from the material known as amber, which exhibits shades ranging from yellow to orange to brown to red. Similarly, amber as a color encompasses various shades of yellow-orange.

Studies indicate that sea turtles are less impacted by lighting in specific wavelengths. Amber LEDs with longer wavelengths cause less disruption compared to white light. Traditional area and site lighting, emitting white light, contain higher levels of blue, potentially confusing baby hatchlings who rely on moonlight for guidance towards the water. Using low-glare and properly shielded amber LED sources can minimize this confusion.

Explore the diverse LED lighting solutions offered by Recolux Lighting at recolux-lighting.com. Join us in discussing your lighting needs and contribute to environmental protection simultaneously.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *